Each unique Deployment state is saved as a different version in Orquesta. This allows you to track changes and roll back to previous versions if necessary.
The goal of version control is to track and manage changes to Deployments over time. This helps engineers and product teams maintain a historical record of every modification made to a Deployment and enables them to navigate through different versions.
Versions are numbered sequentially and include metadata on who made changes and when (date and time the changes occur). Orquesta keeps track of these changes by adding labels to each version; your current working version is labeled Current.
To access the version control on the Orquesta dashboard, you will locate the clock icon and click on it, as shown in the image below.
By clicking on the icon, you will see all the different versions you have created while working on the Deployment in Orquesta. Each Deployment is saved as a new version when you click the Deploy button.
Rollback is reverting to a previous version of a Deployment. To roll back to a specific version, you only have to click on the version you want to roll back and click on the Rollback button on the dashboard, and the Deployment version is restored.
Version control plays a crucial role in maintaining the integrity and consistency of the Deployment, as it helps to track changes made over time. If a change is made to a Deployment that later turns out to be a mistake, version control allows you to revert to a previous version of the Deployment easily. Finally, it helps teams collaborate better and perform experiments.
Updated 28 days ago